Spencer & Mandy

27 Jan

Our plan is to start on Monday as well. We should have a section called, “guten-free for the poor and needy.” We went to the smiths to check out gluten-free pastas and so forth. Well…….$7 for a box of gluten free penne is a lot different than .50 cents. Our biggest worry is that gluten-free comes with a lot of strings attached. Hey…..the reason America is so unhealthy is because it costs 1$ for a prepared fatty double double at mcDonalds vs. $3 if you make it at home. If anybody has some ideas on cost effective things……we are all ears 🙂 

5 Responses to “Spencer & Mandy”

  1. perkymom January 27, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

    Are you doing gluten free or going all the way with no dairy, corn, eggs and soy also? I have found that food labeled gluten free contains corn and rice flour. Go for spaghetti squash 🙂

    • spencerperkins24 January 27, 2013 at 10:35 pm #

      Really? Strange cuz dr. G said gluten free labels are ok………wierd. Well it does’t matter because they all cost too much $ anyway lol

      • noellojello January 28, 2013 at 2:43 am #

        I haven’t looked around all that much at gluten free stuff because I figured they had other things we can’t have. I’m thinking that I’m going to try not to buy “gluten free” packaged things and eat more veggies, fruits, brown rice and beans (doc said I can have some grains and beans, I’m not sure who else is eating them?). We’ve started using coupons (not extreme couponing) so that helps too. I don’t know what stores you have around, but whole foods and trader joes have coupons. Maybe it’s nieve of me to think that if I spend less money on dairy, soy, corn, wheat and sugar then I’ll have more money to spend on veggies, fruit and other things?

        I think we’ll clear out most of the junk in our house in a few days so I’ll start the first of the month. Mark’s going to eat what I make but he’s not all in.

  2. noellojello January 28, 2013 at 2:48 am #

    I saw a book called “Gluten Free on a Shoestring” so I looked around online and there seems to be a lot of eating gluten free on a budget type books. I’m going to go to the library tomorrow to see if they have any books like that there where I can copy recipes.

  3. donnellynicole January 28, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    Meal planning helps. I planned out the next two weeks of meals, planning for leftovers and snacks and when I went to the store to get food today the cost was just a little bit over what I usually pay.

Leave a Reply

