All Aboard

1 Feb

I thought it would be hard to be in a house that has “normal food” in it. I didn’t get rid of anything because the Elders’ are here and Nathan and Adam have been able to  eat everything. We decided to wait until their call from Dr. Geronimo to make food changes. We had that call on Monday and now…drumroll…we are all aboard 🙂  Adam’s attitude has been fantastic and supportive (what?) while Nathan fought the change HARD. Adam’s usual lunch was caesar salad or pizza and a Gatorade and sometimes a cookie. Nathan was only eating lunch 1 or 2x a week and he’d get pizza or a cookie. I should’ve asked what they ate when I ask how their day was! Now they eat fruit and salad with chicken for lunch and nuts and fruit for snacks at school. Nathan says “It’s killing me!”. Umm, sorry bub- now that you are eating, you will really live 🙂

I lost count of my days but started on the 7th so I guess it is my 25th day.  Yesterday I went to Olive Garden with a friend and ordered off the gluten free menu…dry salad with olive oil and balsamic, salmon with steamed broccoli and red peppers.  I really liked leaving feeling good rather than bloated from the bread sticks  and parmesan chicken and pasta that is my Italian go to meal.

YOU ARE ALL DOING SUPER!

4 Responses to “All Aboard”

  1. Mandy Perkins February 1, 2013 at 2:40 am #

    That is so great the boys are doing it too! and that it is helping Adam! Nathan will come around 🙂

  2. walicia February 1, 2013 at 3:56 am #

    Kristy, we are going to need all of your restaurant notes! I am so scared to leave the house and eat anything from any restaurant for fear of ruining all the effort I have done so far! I did find a pizza joint that makes gluten free pizza, and the are very cautious in the kitchen making sure not to cross contaminate. So I’ve been wanting to go get some for Jacob for a treat! haha…

    • donnellynicole February 1, 2013 at 5:28 am #

      Go Nathan and Adam. Such a big change is brave I think especially for Tweens. They are a great example to their friends!

  3. noellojello February 1, 2013 at 11:01 pm #

    Wow I can’t believe they’re all in too. That’s great!

Leave a Reply

