Turkey Lettuce Wrap Tacos with Chiles, Cumin, Cilantro, Lime and Tomato-Avocado Salsa

12 Feb

image these look yummy!

Start by sauteeing the garlic and green chiles in olive oil for about a minute, then adding ground cumin and a pinch of ground chipotle (or use cayenne pepper) and sauteeing for a minute more.

Then add ground turkey and a tiny bit of salt and saute until the turkey is well-browned. This took about 5 minutes with my pan.

Add 1/2 cup thinly sliced green onions and cook the turkey a couple of minutes more.

While the turkey cooks, chop a bunch of cilantro. After the onions cook with the turkey, turn off the heat and stir in a generous amount of chopped cilantro and 2 T fresh lime juice. I was shocked to realize I forgot to take a photo of the turkey with the cilantro stirred in, so I guess I need to make this again.

I ate my tacos with this simple salsa with avocado, diced cherry tomatoes, lime juice, and a bit of olive oil. This photo isn’t the best, but the salsa was really good on the tacos!

Turkey Lettuce Wrap Tacos with Chiles, Cumin, Cilantro, Lime and Tomato-Avocado Salsa
(Makes about 8 tacos, recipe adapted from Molly Watson’s Turkey Tacos, discovered via Twitter from Marisa.)

Ingredients for Tacos:
1 T olive oil
1 tsp. minced garlic (I used minced garlic from a jar, but fresh garlic would be even better)
1-2 T diced green chiles (I used about half of a 4 oz. jar of diced green chiles, recipe called for fresh chiles which would be a bit hotter)
1 tsp. ground cumin
1/4 tsp. ground chipotle chile powder (recipe called for cayenne)
1 1/2 lbs. ground turkey
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 cup thinly sliced green onions
1 large bunch cilantro, finely chopped (about 1 1/4 cups chopped cilantro. I used 1 cup in tacos and 1/4 cup in salsa. Use more or less cilantro to taste.)
2 T fresh lime juice
2 large heads romaine lettuce (or use iceberg, Boston lettuce, or butter lettuce)

4 Responses to “Turkey Lettuce Wrap Tacos with Chiles, Cumin, Cilantro, Lime and Tomato-Avocado Salsa”

  1. donnellynicole February 12, 2013 at 6:23 pm #

    Mmmmmmm these look amazing wellie! I have some ground turkey in the fridge so I think I’ll be making this with it 🙂

    • spencerperkins24 February 12, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

      mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm these look sooooooo good. mandy made me blt lettuce wraps the other day. sooo good 🙂

  2. Mandy Perkins February 12, 2013 at 8:10 pm #

    oh yummy. will be on the meal plan next week!

  3. walicia February 13, 2013 at 5:45 am #

    Hello Tacos. Can I come over? Too bad each of us couldn’t chill together. Then we would only have to each make one meal a day! I pick breakfast! Green Smoothies for Everyone!

Leave a Reply

